Tere Ghar Ke Samne (1963)

I’ve decided to inaugurate this blog with one of my absolutely favorite movies, Tere Ghar Ke Samne, a delightfully refreshing romantic comedy starring Dev Anand and Nutan. In my opinion, it’s absolutely fabulous, hilarious, stunning, spectacular, you get the idea. I’m not going to do the whole plot summary with screenshots, because other bollywood blogs have already done that (a’la Bombay Noir :)), instead I’ll give you my take on the movie.

Cover Image- I liked this one best

Cover Image- I liked this one best

I watched Paying Guest after this, and comparing it too this movie shows how Dev Anand had matured enough at this point to truly come into his own as an actor. He was more comfortable on screen, his voice variations making him a heartthrob. His Rakesh took himself just seriously enough, was sophisticated in his admiration of Nutan. The way he flirts with her by calling her a queen gets me every time.

ch-ch-em-is-try

ch-ch-em-is-try

And Nutan! I have to admit, I thought, probably wrongly, that after a woman had her first child she lost her figure. But Nutan has proved me wrong. If possible, she looked even more beautiful in this movie than in any other one I had seen her in so far. Her chemistry with Dev is just…perfect. That’s all I can say. And so GENUINE. Like, take the scene when they are sitting in the garage in her fathers house.

She's so beautiful

She’s so beautiful

“There are two ways to resolve a conflict. One Chinese and One Indian.”

Chinese?!”

“I’ll burst into a house with a gun and go BAM BAM BAM! And forcibly take you from your parents and marry you” (Indo-China war, guys! I have nothing against Chinese people!)

“And the Hindustani way?”

“The way of fives. 1) Your parents love you a lot, 2) My parents love me a lot 3) I love you a lot 4) YOU love me a lot and 5) On the inside, my parents love you and your parents love me. And in the end, love will win and we’ll be married.”

The perfect mix

Genuine love

See? Just the perfect mix of funniness and deep truth. Truly one of my favorite movies.

Om Prakash as Lalaji is absolutely hilarious with classic Om Prakash style, and yet, he conveys Lalaji as a complex character, with such deep love for his son that he is willing to give up his pride for him. No one is strictly “good” in this movie, there are no hard core villains, which makes it all the more realistic and beautiful. Likewise with the actor who plays Nutan’s father- I don’t know his name.

1963_Tere Ghar Ke Samne 6.jpg

Rajendra Nath as Ronny is absolutely hilarious as well.

“I love you! Let me give you a kiss!”- Drunk Ronny

“You love me?” Dev says in his sleepy, dealing with drunk people voice, and leans forward.

Ah, I love that dealing-with-drunk-people voice so much. And Dev’s other voices! They make what could have been a boring script come alive with wit and humor! My rendering of the conversations really don’t do them justice. Which is why you MUST watch this movie. A lot of times, I feel like movies I’m really excited for turn out to let me down. Tere Ghar Ke Samne was one of the unexpected gems I found after lots of let down movies. It’s guaranteed to cheer you up. The ending didn’t annoy me as much as it annoyed other people- I mean, the message was clear to us, but it obviously wasn’t clear to Lalaji and Seth Karam Chand, and it would have looked strange if they suddenly made up after so much enmity.

 

AND THE SONGS. OH THE SONGS.

Nutan's amazing face during this song

Nutan’s strange faces during this song-!!!

Can Dil Ka Bhawar be my favorite song for all eternity? Probably not- but it is probably song of the month or year. The shots of Qutub Minar from the outside are spectacular, and the dialogue between Nutan and Dev as they go up and down is adorable. And the face Nutan makes during the song! Gah, and Dev is being his most romantic self.

I legitimately started rocking out in front of my computer to Tu Kahan, Is nasheeli raat mein? My reaction was stunning to behold, because I’d heard this song a long time before but never knew where it came from.

The look in his eyes

The look in his eyes

And Where would I be if I didn’t mention the title song? Absolutely brilliant, especially the Ulfaat me taaj chute, yeh bee tumhe yaad hoga. Ulfaat me taaj baane, yeh bee tumhe yaad hoga. I’m sorry, I’m really bad at spelling Hindi.

I have no idea how else to convince you to watch this movie- it has the songs, the actors, the plot, the cinematography. Should I start juggling to get you to? I will, I tell you, and it will not be pretty (or safe).

What were your favorite scenes? Share in the comments!

27 thoughts on “Tere Ghar Ke Samne (1963)

  1. MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL FLIPPING TIME. YES. Dev and Nutan and Goldie and ohhhhh my goodness this movie just… defies words. I have this notebook thingy I write in in school, and it is just FILLED with musings about this film. (It’s all about Dev’s films, yes!) Everyone should see this film. EVERYONE. It should be mandatory to before you turn 12! ‘Cause it’s just that good!

    “Dil Ka Bhanwar” is just my favorite song ever, ever, ever. It was stuck in my head for 5 weeks straight, and for those 5 weeks, I listened to it first thing in the morning, and last thing before I went to sleep. Yes, that is how much I love it and Dev is just the most adorable person on earth. ❀

    • IT IS SO GREAT. SO GREAT.
      I don’t know if you can fully appreciate it before you’re twelve… I watched Shree 420 when I was like 10 and I feel like I didn’t appreciate it enough. BUt if you’re a total sucker for romance (like me) you will love it no matter when you watch it!
      Dil Ka Bhawar is so pretty! I listen to it all the time…but I really like the title song too b/c its so adorable.
      You should scan parts of your notebook so we can fangirl together!!!

      • Oh, yeah, the only two old movies I knew when I was 10 were Awaara and Shree 420. ‘Cause Zee TV. And also ’cause my grandma is a Raj Kapoor fan. She’s the one who got me started on old films, and also a series of coincidences. I wrote a post about how I fell in love with Dev BUT NAH GO FANGIRL YOURSELF WATCH SOME MORE FILMS AND THEN WE CAN READ IT TOGETHER AND SWOON.

        And yeah, I should! Just a warning, messy handwriting and stuff, and I don’t have a scanner, so poor quality pictures on jailbroken iPod ftw!

      • WordPress deletes all my replies!!! 😦
        I’ve known Chupke Chupke for a really long time but I’m not sure if that classifies as “old” old… I used to hate black and white so much, but now I think I’m almost too used to it! lol
        I READ THAT POST. I HAVE READ ALL YOUR POSTS (nah, jk. Just most of them, probs.)
        It would still be cool! I have all this fanfiction roaming around in my head… but I never get time to write it down! Summer is coming though, and then BWAHAHHAHA (insert evil laugh here)

  2. STALKER. LOLOLOLOL. YOU’RE JAMES STEWART. HEHEHEHEHE. /Rear Window reference

    OH MY GOSH. Once I declared that dreaming in black and white was IMPOSSIBLE, but I was so wrong about it. I love black and white now. ❀ Infact I don't think color cinematography (with exceptions here and there) is as good as black and white cinematography.

    WHAT FANFICTION. TELL ME TELL ME TELL ME :DDDD

    • I have read so much about that movie but never watched it!
      Actually, I’ve never dreamed in black and white…but that’s prob because I haven’t dreamed about any old bollywood actors/actresses yet! I mean, daydreamed obviously, but not legit at night dreaming.
      I THOUGHT OF A WHOLE EPILOGUE TO MUGHAL-E-AZAM AND ADDITIONAL SCENES FROM AWAARA

      • You should! I really wanna watch it! Hitchcock masterpieces. πŸ˜€

        I always dream about them sometimes. Especially Dev. πŸ˜› -blushing-

        REALLY? DOES SALIM GO BACK TO ANARKALI?! HEHEHE.

      • It’d be nice if I could dream about them… You could say that! Many, many years later (only not that later on because then they’d both be old… Maybe 8 years later on.) πŸ˜€

      • OH, DOES HE FIND HER AND SAY, “OMG YOU’RE ALIVE WHY DIDN’T DAD TELL ME -FLIES INTO MURDEROUS RAGE-“? HAHAHAHAHA.

      • HAHAHAHA I didn’t develop it that far- I only got to the part where he’s far away in the desert, marching across with his army, when he catches a glimpse of a veil flying in the wind, of someone he had once known… Yeah. Very cliche- I came up with it two years ago. But you made me want to go further πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • OH MY GOD YES HAHAHAHAHAHAHA. I CAN ALMOST SEE DILIP KUMAR RAGING SO HARD HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

      • YEAH AND PRITHVIRAJ KAPOOR COULD BE ALL >:/ I’M THE KING DAMMIT.

        AND DILIP KUMAR WOULD BE, I DON’T CARE YOU HATE MY LOVE YOU SLEW IT ETC ETC

      • OMG ANGRY DILIP = CUTE DILIP = ME SWOONING.

        AND MADHU WOULD BE ALL, OH NOOOOOOOOO HE SAW ME BUT YOU KNOW I LOVE HIM SO LET’S GO BACK TO HIM. πŸ˜€

  3. The title song had the best picturisation; special effects(Nutan in a glass) and to top it the dashing Dev! .It is quite a motivational song indeed……………………..

    • Hi coolone! Welcome to my blog! I would definitely call the song motivational, and uplifting. Actually, this movie restored my spirits after I was sad and started asking all these questions about life that I had no answers to πŸ˜€ There’s no one like Dev for cheering you up! Nutan in a glass, what a unique concept. And when his friend picks up the glass and sees his lady friend in it- hahhaha.

      • Dev was truly call the evergreen star of the Hindi cinema due to his energy and spirits which never diminished inspite of his age.
        You are also welcome to visit my blog http://wp.me/2Wtty
        Plsease feel free to comment on it !
        have a nice day!
        πŸ™‚

  4. One of the most deliciously romantric pairings- Dev Anand and Nutan…Watch them sing ‘Kahte hain pyar jisko’ in Baarish, feelings alive in their eyes.. It was rumoured that the romance-quotient was so huge between them that Nutan was warned by hubby not to do any more movies with Dev…! Just look at the 1000watt shine on Dev’s and Nutan’s faces in Ghar ke Saamne, when after the song, Tu Kahan, is Nashili Raat Mein, they find each other…! Gives the goosepimples…

    • Welcome to my blog, Surekha!
      Really?! Nutan’s husband warned her not to do any more movies with Dev? I adore these little bits of trivia πŸ˜€ What can I say about Dev and Nutan, I love their chemistry so much. And Nutan’s smile in the end of Tu Kahan, and Dev pointing her out to the guy he got directions from!!! Gah! Makes me grin in this ridiculous looking manner that only happens when I watch old Hindi movies. TERE GHAR KE SAMNE IS SO AWESOME ❀ ❀ Not to mention their stunning chemistry in Dil Ka Bhawar…and Dekho Roota Na Karo πŸ˜€ I will most definitely watch Baarish just for the two of them.

  5. Pingback: Legendary Dev Anand-”dil abhi bhara nahin” | coolone160

Share your thoughts!

